“Saltwater” ©2006

February 7, 2011

I lay in state,

Shoulders pinned to the mattress beneath the heaviness of my grief,

Her sunshine 93,000,000 miles away,

Still scorching my thoughts,

Remembering her dance made me smile,

Remembering her laughter made me cry,

I wept,

Sobs wracking my body,

Gravity drawing water from the wells in my eyes,

Tears spilling down my temples,

Slowly transforming ears into saltwater reservoirs,

Remembering someone saying, “It’s funny how time flies!”,

But thinking it’s sad how much we take time for granted,

And you begin to believe that a few seconds,

minutes,

hours,

days,

weeks,

months,

years,

by themselves could keep the saltwater from wearing away the sunshine

Leave a Reply

